John Wooden recites a poem about his faith

December 23, 2007 at 9:35 pm Leave a comment

“When I graduated from our little three-room grade school in Centerton, Indiana, I got dressed up in clean overalls for the big event. My dad gave me something that day that would shape my entire life: my work, my marriage, my goals, my philosophy. It was a card on which he had written a few guidelines. I still carry it with me. On one side of the card, Dad had written out his creed. At the top of the paper, it said “Seven Things to Do.” — John Wooden

1. Be true to yourself.

2. Help others.

3. Make each day your masterpiece.

4. Drink deeply from good books, especially the Bible.

5. Make friendship a fine art.

6. Build a shelter against a rainy day.

7. Pray for guidance and give thanks for your blessings every day.

From these seven points, Coach Wooden, Athletes in Action, and Fellowship of Christian Athletes developed the Coach Wooden “Keys to Life” Award, presented annually at the Legends of the Hardwood Breakfast, during the Final Four Weekend. These “Keys to Life” are a true compass to keep each of us pointed in the right direction in life.

Source: http://beyondtheultimate.org/john-wooden.aspx

Entry filed under: NCAA BB. Tags: , , , , .

Evel Knievel Video On How He Found God Jeff Gordon races ahead for the Lord

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories


