After winning World Series, Schilling thanks Lord

December 29, 2007 at 5:18 pm 1 comment

Source:  http://38pitches.com/2007/10/29/2007-world-series-champions/

Here is an old post from Curt Schilling’s Blog about the 2007 World Series:

“God has his fingerprints all over this game.”

I stole it. Clint Hurdle said that about game 4 and it resonated with me all day long. What Aaron Cook and Jon Lester went through to get to this point, to get the ball, was God’s work. What they did after “Play Ball” was awe inspiring in a million ways.

Hate to see the cheap shots taken by fans and writers at what went down over the last 5 days with regards to the series and Colorado’s team. They may not use it as an excuse, I certainly don’t expect to hear it from Helton, Holliday Hurdle or any others, but the 8 days between games, in my opinion, had a negative effect on them. I still believe we are the best team in the world, and 8 days or not we would have won, but I think it did impact them in many different ways. 8 days off and then you step in the box and have to face the best pitcher on the planet? Hats off to the NL Champions for redefining comeback and “against all odds”. What they did to even get to the 2007 World Series needs to be etched in stone. I think it will be lost over the next few months because of the outcome of the Series but it shouldn’t be, they did it with class and style. They played the game right and hard.

There are a litany of people that deserve huge kudos for what just happened. From a personal standpoint it starts with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. What I have been able to experience, watch, be a part of, just adds to the already overflowing life of incredible memories I am totally undeserving of. To be able to participate in, and witness, events that millions of people around the world will never forget is pretty much indescribable.

I thank the Lord for an incredible wife, 4 beautiful and healthy children. Shonda remains my rock. In a life that sees me pretty much absent from the home for 6-8 months a year she has held the fort. That’s saying a lot when that fort contains 3 boys, ages 12, 8 and 5, and a young lady of 10. Wherever next year takes us it’s incredibly comforting knowing the ships in order and my children, even though I THINK they miss me, are being raised by a woman of virtue, passion, devotion and love that knows no bounds.

I thank the Lord for keeping George Kerr well all year long. George is suffering from ALS, and we had a deal that he’d promise me to live life to the fullest this year, and hang on, in exchange I promised him we’d win a World Series. He sent me a pre game email before every start this year. We’re now going to begin working on next years wager.

I thank the Lord for bringing Peter Despain into my life. Pete, as the frequent visitors here will remember, was the young boy I was introduced to through 38 Studios President, Brett Close. His daugter Natalie was in class with Peter when he was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer. Natalie, obviously a young lady mature beyond her years, asked if I would talk to Pete and try to cheer him up. We spoke and became immediate friends, finally getting a chance to meet this year in Texas. Peter would email me “Sox mojo” each night before I pitched. I would hope it’s now easy to understand why ‘bad games’ for me this year never seemed as bad as they otherwise might have. When a young boy is emailing you updates on his surgery and chemo, and his dad is filling in the blanks when he’s too sick or tired to type, a loss is a bit less ’stinging’. Real life comes into clear focus and wins and losses linger a lot less as well.

Entry filed under: MLB. Tags: , , , .

Tigers’ Grilli celebrates birth of Jesus God’s Hall of Fame More Important to Gary Carter

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ralph  |  January 11, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Ralph

    I think God approves of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories


