Yahoo! Sports’ Margolis ‘Not Alone’ In Fight Against Cancer

December 29, 2007 at 4:35 pm Leave a comment

Source: http://sports.yahoo.com/nascar/news;_ylt=AqYW.cDWPmQM7qcTgDMHL5k5nYcB?slug=bm-bobsstory122507&prov=yhoo&type=lgns

During the fall of 2006, Yahoo! Sports NASCAR writer Bob Margolis was diagnosed with Lymphoma.

Below are Margolis’ comments on his Yahoo! column:

An awakening

I’m not sure exactly when it happened, but at some point early in my treatment I felt strangely alone. It was an odd feeling for me. I don’t consider myself to be an overly religious person. I think of myself as being a spiritual being. I believe in God.

But here I was feeling all alone. Had I forgotten that God was with me all the time? All at once it came to me.

Someone once told me that if God brings you to something, He will also bring you through it. That one statement alone was probably more instrumental in my making it through the tough times than anything else.

From that moment on, I never felt alone again. Even in those toughest of days, I always knew that I wasn’t facing this challenge alone.

A new day and thanks

So there you have it. That’s what my life has been like the past 12 months. I’m proud to be a member of an exclusive club of cancer survivors.

I always enjoy the look on people’s face when I tell them I not only survived one cancer, but two – in one year.

I’m convinced God has brought me through this most difficult year of my life for a reason. He obviously has some important work for me to accomplish before my time in this world is over.

I’m ready for it.

I still have tests ahead of me. The first one comes in March, 2008. It’ll be my first PET scan, the one that determines any cancerous activity.

My doctors are optimistic that we won’t find anything. I’m optimistic, too.

With this being the time of year when giving and receiving gifts is so much a part of our lives, I am truly blessed to have received the greatest gift of all – the gift of life.

Now, I just can’t wait to get back to the track.

Entry filed under: Auto Racing. Tags: , , , , .

Faith Drives KU’s McClinton Fellowship for Christian Athletes Top 10 Stories for 2007

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories


