Former Panther, Mike Minter’s new career as a Philanthropist

December 31, 2007 at 11:49 am Leave a comment

Source: http://www.mikeminter.com/thephilanthropist.html

Mike Minter : The Philanthropist

“God has given you something to give back, and it might be hundreds of thousands of dollars, or it might be a dollar, it doesn’t matter…it’s just what comes out of the heart.” ~ Mike Minter

There are few people that are willing to not only give their money, but to give their time to causes they truly believe in. While giving hundreds of thousands of dollars to the YMCA and other local charities, Mike also gives of himself to help the world that he cares for so much. Minter recently came back from a mission trip to Africa with the YMCA of Greater Charlotte, where they were analyzing the ability to bring food, water, and resources to the more rural and poverty stricken areas.

Asked where this giving spirit comes from, Mike was direct to the point. “It comes straight from my mom. The gift of giving is a gift. I haven’t always had something to give, but I always said ‘When I make it, I’m going to make sure I give back.’ So when I got the opportunity to give, I was on it.”

Why the Y? Mike says, “The first thing we did [when my family moved to Charlotte] was go to the Y, and I saw Christ. I said ‘What’s going on?’ And somebody told me what the ‘C’ in YMCA stood for, and I said, ‘Oh, I’m with you on that.’ Anything with kids, anything that’s going to help kids get faith, learn, grow and be protected, I’m with it.”

“My heart goes to organizations that are helping people, helping them grow, not just giving handouts. Giving a handout is doing the work and giving it to people. What I’m saying is that I’m going to show you how to do the work and you can get the proceeds from YOUR work. It’s biblical with respect to giving a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach him how to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.”

The Ruckus House Foundation is another aspect of Mike’s philanthropic spirit. The foundation primarily functions to help college students reach their dreams of becoming educators through scholarships.

Mike is also the spokesperson for many reputable charitable organizations. He is the regional speaker for the Kidney Foundation, The National Guard Youth ChalleNGe program, the Salvation Army, and the Boys and Girls Club. Mike also sits on the Metropolitan Board of the YMCA of Greater Charlotte, and donates funds consistently to ensure that programs for local children can continue.

In 2007, the Minter Family made it possible for a community playground at the University City YMCA providing a new safe place for kids to play.

Entry filed under: NFL. Tags: , , .

Coach Joe Gibbs’ ‘Weekly Spiritual Game Plan’ WNBA’s Tamika Catchings Interview About Her Faith

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories


