Free-Agent Pitcher Mike Maroth says ‘we’ll see where God takes our family now’

December 31, 2007 at 2:03 pm Leave a comment

BPSports article from June 2007, where Maroth talks about being traded from Detroit to St. Louis and leaving his friendships in Detroit.

Source: http://www.bpsports.net/bpsports.asp?ID=5616

Mike Maroth, who spent six seasons with the Detroit Tigers, was traded to the St. Louis Cardinals June 2 for a player to be named later

“My closest relationship is with Nate Robertson and we spent quite a bit of time talking and encouraging each other to press on,” Maroth wrote. “I have been used to spending almost everyday during the season with these guys and now that was going to end. The relationships you build in baseball are special.”

Robertson and Maroth are both Christians.

In 2003, Maroth became the first pitcher since 1980 to lose more than 20 games in a season. But he handled the disappointing season with dignity and class.

“God doesn’t look at the numbers, for one thing,” Maroth told Baptist Press in 2004. “I strongly believe that when we go through trials and struggles, there’s something for us to learn. God’s trying to teach us something or get our attention. I had to really stay close to the Lord during that time so I didn’t start falling away. It’s so easy for us as Christians to all of a sudden turn the other way when we’re going through struggles and look the other way and try to do it on our own.”

The following is from Mike Maroth’s personal blog. Mike is now a free agent. He takes a moment to relect.

Source: http://www.marothbaseball.com/blog.asp

So, here I am…a free agent for the first time in my career. It is a strange feeling , not knowing where I will be next season. It is still early but I am curious to see how this will all play out. I was formally released by the Cardinals last week. I enjoyed my time there, getting to know the city and especially my teammates there. St. Louis was a great place to play but in the end it didn’t turn out the way they or I wanted it to. I didn’t get my job done in the way I know I am capable and I am excited for a fresh start. So, we’ll see where God takes our family now. That will be the hardest part, waiting. We have been praying for the wisdom and guidance we will need to navigate through free agency and to choose a team that is where God wants us to be. We are anxious to see him work it out and lead us in a new direction. We trust Him to protect us and provide for us just like he has always been faithful to in the past.

Entry filed under: MLB. Tags: , , , , .

WNBA’s Tamika Catchings Interview About Her Faith Dwight Howard: “Without the Lord in your life, you cannot fulfill your dreams.”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories


