USA Men’s Soccer Defender Eddie Pope Testimony

January 5, 2008 at 5:33 pm Leave a comment

Source: Beyond The Ultimate

USA Men’s Soccer Defender Eddie Pope Testimony:

I grew up going to church every Sunday with my family. Although church was meaningful to me, it soon became more of a routine than a heartfelt faith. That began to change during my freshman year at the University of North Carolina. I was playing both soccer and football. August was a grueling time, because I had two practices a day for each sport. It wasn’t long before I was exhausted.

Then a teammate gave me a card that contained some Psalms from the Bible. They made a lot of sense to me. They also provided me with the peace and strength I needed to get through each day. I came to realize that God is a “personal” God. His Word can be applied in every situation. I also realized it was time to quit going through the motions, to stop treating my relationship with God as a routine and to start making it the foundation of my life.

So, in a strange way, soccer has forced me to develop a relationship with God. It’s the best thing that has ever happened to me. With all the traveling and being away from family, having God as part of my daily routine is essential—even though He is anything but routine.

Life is too short to live without God. He is a necessity.

Entry filed under: Soccer. Tags: , , , .

Reddick: ‘You can worship God no matter where you are or what you are doing’ USA’s Johnson: ‘key to rest of life: faithfulness, both his and mine’

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories


