Christ has given Seymour strength to battle through tough situations

February 2, 2008 at 3:26 pm Leave a comment

Source: Projo.com

Richard Seymour is still not at 100 percent, but that isn’t going to stop him from trying his best to help the Patriots stymie the Giants’ running game and put pressure on quarterback Eli Manning in Super Bowl XLII on Sunday.

The Patriots will need a big effort from him. The Giants have been on a roll as of late, winning 10 straight road games and moving the ball with ease both on the ground and in the air.

Patriots coach Bill Belichick has a lot of confidence in Seymour, who missed the first seven games of the regular season while rehabbing from offseason knee surgery.

Seymour has started in 11 of the 12 games since his return and has recorded 40 tackles, 1.5 sacks, and six quarterback hits.

Everything is in place for Seymour to have a big game on Sunday.

“I think that I am definitely moving in the right direction,” Seymour said. “The last few years, football was very tough for me — not being healthy and not being able to go out and give the level of expectations that I had. Now, football is starting to become fun again. It’s at the right time. I think you learn from all of the situations that you’re in and now it’s made me a better football player.”

Seymour said he was able to overcome his injury through a lot of hard work and his faith.

“For me, I’ve been through a lot of tragic situations in my life,” said Seymour, who lost his dad in 2004. “The only thing that I really have to lean on is Christ in my life. That has been my strength throughout it all, just my relationship to my faith.”

The Patriots drafted Seymour with the sixth pick of the of the 2001 NFL Draft out of the University of Georgia. It didn’t take him long to make an impact. The 6-foot-6, 310-pound defensive end was selected to five consecutive Pro Bowls (2002-2006). He is a five-time All-Pro selection (2002-2006).

Initially, Seymour didn’t want to play for New England, but he said that everything has turned out much better than he ever dreamed.

“When I was drafted believe it or not I said, ‘hey, I want to go somewhere down South or on the West Coast’ and I ended up in New England. But for me, everything happens for a reason,” Seymour said. “It has been a blessing ever since and I’ve met some great people, built a lot of good relationships and I think for me that’s what it’s all about.”

Now he can’t wait until the offseason so that he can get on a strict training program to get back into Pro Bowl shape for the Patriots.

“From a foundation of conditioning, the foundation of cardio, I haven’t been able to train like I have in the past, so with a great offseason all of that will come right back because the ability and the talent are still there,” Seymour said. “I just have to be able to sustain it a lot longer and that’s what the good players are able to do. In crunch time, they’re able to rely on what they’ve been doing in the offseason.”

Because of everything that he’s been through this season and how hard he’s worked to get back on the field, Seymour, who has three Super Bowl rings, said that playing in this Super Bowl means a lot to him.

“I wasn’t even playing the beginning of the season, and not knowing if I would play and to have the blessing that I’ve had so far to display my talents in the world’s biggest game, for me it couldn’t get any bigger.”

Entry filed under: NFL. Tags: , , .

NFL players unite for charity Faith gives Patriots punter a leg up

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Categories


